#OpenSeasonOnBlackGirls- What I Have to Say About It

Posted on

This is sad. This is very sad.

For all of those who will say that racism is a “thing of the past”, state that “I’m just being sensitive”, that you “don’t see race”-

This is for you.

Let this “OpenSeasononBlackGirls be an example to you, an example of just how my blackness, my gender, is still seen by a joke by people.

So tell me- if this is the 21st century and racism is behind us- why is it that in order for another race to prosper and feel good about themselves, another one must be torn down, deminished, and dehumanized?

This is not just a string of black girl stereotypes- these are people degrading women’s black woman’s  bodies, comparing them to animals,to furniture and to food- for what?

Because being black is a joke to some people.

This outlines the main reason Black Girls Rock is needed in the first place. This illustrates why safe places for minorities are needed in the first place.

This is why feminism is needed in the first place.

Oh, wait.

Where are those feminists?

Because apparently when race and feminism meet, I’ve found that many white feminists go silent. Why? Why has the feminist community gone silent, when under other circumstances they are quick to comment, quick to protest, quick to demand change.

Because apparently, this is a black issue, and has nothing to do with them.

Despite the fact that we continue to fight and comment about how society continues to comment, grade, and shape the perception of the female body, it has nothing to do with them.

Because apparently, despite the long history of black women’s bodies being used as a joke to humor others, it has nothing to do with them.

Because apparently, despite stripping a group of human beings of their human status and turning them into nothing more than a joke at their own expense- has nothing to do with them.

Because, instead of continuing to fight for the freedom and equality of all women, what you are really saying is that youa re fighting for freedom and equality for yourselves.

And to the rest of you in the ‘racism doesn’t exist crowd”, I have something to say to you:

This is what I am fighting against. Yes I am angry, yes I am black, and yes, I am a woman. I am tired of watching my race be swallowed up by hatred, racism, and sexism. I am tired of a community of people being pitted against them selves- black women against black women, black men against black men- because of the mandates and expectations placed on them by a society that would rather see us fall than to see us rise.

I am tired of my experiences being cast aside, thrown away, and misinterpreted, because someone felt “guilty” or “attacked” whenever I speak about racism in America. I will not be silent, and if screaming is the only way I will be heard, then so be it.

Because apparently talking isn’t going to do it anymore.

I will not “calm down”, “learn to take a joke”, “stop being so sensitive”, and “stop bringing up the past”. I WILL hold my head high, wear my curly hair with pride, love my beautiful brown skin, and continue to shatter each pervasive stereotype as I continue to fight for equality in ALL forms. Let this be a reminder to you on how society and those within it view black women- and let this be a reminder to you that self hatred in the black community is also as prevalent.

 

Done.

 

 

6 thoughts on “#OpenSeasonOnBlackGirls- What I Have to Say About It

    paulaethans said:
    November 1, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Great post. As a white self-identifying feminist, I agree that more women who come from privilege need to speak up and support those who endure such prejudice.

      iistrawberrychanii responded:
      November 19, 2013 at 5:27 am

      If you agree that more women of privilege need to speak up about issues pertaining to race and and woman’s issues, then why don’t you post about it? Agreeing that there should be more discussion on race and gender and then doing nothing still upholds and maintains the idea that it’s not your problem.

    kipekeenanzuri said:
    November 21, 2013 at 4:29 am

    *Applauds wildly* AMEN! The one phrase that I hate to hear “Don’t be sensitive”. BS, on all levels. I am a self-considered feminist, and no I don’t hate men. But I know my role in this world and I without a doubt will not be controlled by a male figure because he is just that; a male. My plan is to make my mark on this world as a successful female business owner and with 2 business under my belt, I’m on my way. And I refuse to be bogged down by sexism or racism. Being from an town like Pittsburgh where “old” traditions and “new” traditions clash on a daily basis, I’m fully aware of the racism aspect. I’ve always been proud to be black and still have love for all other races and gender, and it drives me completely insane when I see the bigotry of today; whether it falls under racism, sexism, or sexuality. I am not and never will be afraid to make my statement known to the world and I’m glad to see that neither are you.

      kipekeenanzuri said:
      November 21, 2013 at 4:31 am

      I’ve read this post for the third time and I am still filled with pride and inspiration from you. I just had to say thanks again.

      iistrawberrychanii responded:
      November 21, 2013 at 4:41 am

      I am very happy that my little blog managed to inspire you.

      As a young black woman, I often find that people choose to blind on matters that make the uncomfortable- in this case, their is no way that you can try to cover up the terrible, racist, sexist storm that swept through Twitter- and then try to look me in the eye and say that racism doesn’t exist.

      I hope that I can keep inspiring people and bring to light the unique experiences that many PoC have so that we can learn from each other and find strength.

      Thank you for reading!

        kipekeenanzuri said:
        November 21, 2013 at 4:44 am

        You’re Welcome!

Leave a Reply

